Germany has selected its Canoe Sprint and Canoe Slalom teams for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games.

A total of 17 paddlers comprising of eight women and nine men have been officially nominated by the German Olympic Sports Confederation (DOSB) to represent the country in Canoe Sprint in Paris.

Among those includes seven Olympic debutants with Lena Roehlings, Pauline Jagsch, Paulina Paszek, Hedi Moana Kliemke, Maike Jakob, Jakob Thordsen and Anton Winkelmann set for their first appearances at the Games.

Sebastian Brendel, the three-time Olympic champion, is the most experienced member of the German Canoe Sprint team as he prepares for his fourth Games.

The 36-year-old claimed men’s C1 1000 gold at London 2012 before retaining his title along with winning men’s C2 1000 gold at Rio 2016. He clinched men’s C2 1000 bronze at Tokyo 2020 alongside Tim Hecker who will also compete in Paris.

Germany Olympic canoe kayak sprint team Paris 2024

Peter Kretschmer will make his first outing at the Olympics since London 2012 when he captured men’s C2 1000 gold.

He will team up with Hecker in the men’s C2 500 after they were crowned world champions last year.

Germany will be aiming to defend their Olympic men’s K4 500 title.

Max Lemke, Tom Liebscher-Lucz and Max Rendschmidt steered Germany to glory in Tokyo and will be bidding to come out on top again with Jacob Schopf completing the quartet who are the reigning world champions.

Kayakers Jule Marie Hake and Sarah Bruessler will compete in their second Games after featuring at Tokyo 2020.

Lisa Jahn, who won women’s C4 500 silver and women’s C2 200 bronze at last year’s World Championships, is another returning Olympian in the German team.

Germany’s Canoe Sprint team in full: Sarah Bruessler, Paulina Paszek, Jule Marie Hake, Pauline Jagsch, Lena Roehlings, Max Lemke, Tom Liebscher-Lucz, Max Rendschmidt, Jacob Schopf, Jakob Thordsen, Anton Winkelmann, Lisa Jahn, Maike Jakob, Hedi Moana Kliemke, Peter Kretschmer, Sebastian Brendel and Tim Hecker.

Germany Olympic canoe kayak slalom team Paris 2024

Reigning Olympic champion Ricarda Funk headlines Germany’s five-strong Canoe Slalom team for Paris 2024 following their nominations by the DOSB.

Funk will be seeking to retain her women’s K1 title following her triumph in Tokyo three years ago.

Elena Lilik, the 2021 world champion and European Games gold medallist, will be eyeing success in the women’s C1.

Sideris Tasiadis will become a four-time Olympian in Paris as he targets a third Olympic medal in men’s C1 after winning silver at London 2012 and bronze at Tokyo 2020.

Noah Hegge will make his Olympic debut in men’s K1, while Stefan Hengst sealed his place at his first Games after winning the battle for selection for Germany’s men’s kayak cross slot.

Funk, Lilik, Hegge and Hengst will all compete in kayak cross that will make its debut at the Olympics in Paris.

Germany’s Canoe Slalom team in full: Ricarda Funk, Elena Lilik, Noah Hegge, Sideris Tasiadis and Stefan Hengst.

Related links

Canoe Sprint
Canoe Slalom