

Member ICF Board of Directors
Chairman ICF Canoe Marathon Committee
Jorn Cronberg
Fjellkroken 8
2022 Gjerdrum
Norway
Telephone: +47 4731 7379
cronberg@online.no

NEWSLETTER CANOE MARATHON RACING

For National Team Leaders, ICF Canoe Marathon Event organisers, National Federations, International Technical Officials, and All other persons interested in Canoe Marathon

NEWSLETTER 2016-4 December 2016

CONTENT

- The 2017 Calendar
- Nomination of ITOs for 2017
- ICF 2016 Congress
- Classic series 2016 results

THE 2017 CALENDAR

World Cup 26-28 May World Cup – 21-26 October	Hazewinkel /BEL Shaoxing and Shanghai /CHN
European Masters Cup European Championships 29 June-2 July	Porto /POR*
Masters World Cup 4-5 September World Championships 7-10 September	Pietermaritzburg /RSA

^{*} Venue to be confirmed at a technical inspection on 10-11 December 2016.

NOMINATION OF ITOS FOR 2017

National Federations are invited to nominate candidates for ITOs 2017. Accommodation during the events for the selected ITOs will be paid by the event organizers.

The deadline for nominations for the **World Cups and World Championships is on 31st December 2016** by using the following link: https://goo.gl/forms/0XNkDKclyGVAeKXm1, and please send a copy to cronberg@online.no

The deadline for nominations for the **European Championships is 15th January 2017** to be send to <u>eca.applications.officials@gmail.com</u> with a copy to <u>cronberg@online.no</u>

ICF 2016 CONGRESS

At the ICF Congress held in Baku November 2016 the Canoe Marathon Committee for the coming 4 years was chosen:

Chairman: Jorn CRONBERG / DEN – re-elected by the Congress

Member: Begoña RODRIGUEZ COSTALES /ESP – new appointment by the Board

Member: José SOUSA /POR – new appointment by Board (was substitute in 2016 because of vacancy)

Member: Ruud HEIJSELAAR /NED – re-appointment by the Board Member: Stefan GUSTAFSSON /SWE – re-appointment by the Board

Advisor: Tim CORNISH /RSA – appointed by the Board



The Canoe Marathon Committee was well represented at the 2016 ICF Congress. From left: José Sousa, Begoña Rodriguez Costales, Ruud Heijselaar, Jorn Cronberg, and Tim Cornish.

OVERALL RESULT OF THE 2016 ICF CANOE MARATHON CLASSIC SERIES

The 2016 Classic Series has been concluded and the result is shown below.

			Position	1st	2nd	3rd	4th	5th	6th	7th	8th		
Note	Points awarded		Points	100	80	60	50	45	40	36	32		
	Best 3 scores count		Position	11th	12th	13th	14th	15th	16th	17th	18th		
	Year: 2016		Points	24	22	20	18	16	15	14	13		
			Position	21st	22nd	23rd	24th	25th	26th	27th	28th		
			Points	10	9	8	7	6	5	4	3		
	MEN			K1	K1	K1	K1	K1	K1	K1	K1		
Pos	Name	Nation		Drak Challenge	Waterland	Crestum a	Sella Descent	Dalsland Marathon	Liffey	Adige Marathon	Shaoxing	Total	Best 3
1	CORRUN, Dries	BEL			50	60		60	80	100		350	240
2	RAMALHO, Jose	POR			100	100						200	200
3	VEGA SUAREZ, Kiko	ESP			40		100					140	140
4	TORSTENSSON, Emil	SWE			22			80				102	102
5	SCHMIDT, Matthias	GER					7			60		67	67
6	BLACH, Nicolai	DEN			12			50				62	62
7	EGAN, Peter	IRE					8			32		40	40
8	MOCKE, Jasper	RSA		13					22			35	35
	WOMEN												
Pos	Name	Nation											ldash
1	EGAN, Jennifer	IRE					100		100	100		300	300
2	BEDOCS, Krisztina	SRB				100	80				36	216	216
3	EICHENBERGER, Sabine	SUI							60	80		140	140
4	BROUGHTON , Lizzie	GBR			100		36					136	136
5	RUHM PRETZER, Pia	GER			36			60				96	96



Dries CORRIJN /BEL Overall winner of the 2016 Classic Series in Men K1



Jennifer EGAN /IRL Overall winner of the 2016 Classic Series in Women K1

The members of the ICF Canoe Marathon Committee wish to thank all of you who have helped us making 2016 a very successful Canoe Marathon year, and we send you our

VERY BEST WISHES FOR THE NEW YEAR



Jorn Cronberg Chairman

Ruud Heijselaar Member

Begoña Rodriguez Costales Member

Stefan Gustafsson Member

José Sousa Member Advisor

Tim Cornish

Alan Laws Retiring Member