Olympic canoe slalom gold medalist Jessica Fox will run for election to the IOC's Athletes' Commission at next year's Paris 2024 Games.

Australia's Fox has been serving as an appointed member on the IOC's Athletes' Commission since 2021, and is one of 32 athletes who have been officially approved by the IOC Executive Board to contest the four vacant positions.

29-year-old Fox has been a member of the ICF's athlete committee, was a Young Ambassador at the 2014 Youth Olympic Games and has also served on the Australian Olympic Committee Athletes' Commission.

Fox won the first ever women's C1 gold medal at the Tokyo Olympic Games, where she also won bronze in the K1. She won K1 silver at her Olympic debut in London, and K1 bronze in Rio.

The 32 candidates, who have been nominated by their respective National Olympic Committees (NOCs) together with their Athletes’ Commissions, come from 15 sports and 32 NOCs.

ICF President Thomas Konietzko said Fox has been an outstanding ambassador for canoeing.

"Jessica has already proven her passion for our sport, and will not only be an outstanding advocate for our athletes, but for athletes from all sports," Mr Konietzko said.

Four candidates from four different sports will be elected directly by their peers to the IOC Athletes’ Commission. All athletes competing at Paris 2024 are eligible to vote in the Athlete365 House in the Olympic Villages during the Olympic Games.

“It is very encouraging to see the strong interest from our peers who are putting themselves forward to be part of the IOC Athletes’ Commission," IOC Athletes Commission Chair, Emma Terho, said.

"Such diverse representation from sports and NOCs means that athletes globally want their voice to be heard and recognise that the IOC AC is a place where they can actively represent and support their peers to succeed in their sporting and non-sporting careers.

“I am sure that those elected will contribute well to the representation of athletes and to addressing their needs and, on behalf of our Commission, I would like to wish all candidates all the best for the election”.

The vote will be supervised and certified by an election committee, appointed by the IOC President, Thomas Bach. The members are: Nicole Hoevertsz (Chair), as a representative of the IOC Legal Affairs Commission; Pâquerette Girard Zappelli, as the IOC Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer; and Emma Terho, as a representative of the IOC Athletes’ Commission.

Canoe Sprint
Canoe Slalom
Kayak Cross
#ICFslalom #Paris2024 #Olympics