New Zealand’s Lisa Carrington’s fifth consecutive K1 200 sprint canoe world title has been voted the International Canoe Federation’s ‘moment of 2017’ by the sport’s fans.

Fans were asked to vote on social media for the performance they considered to be the highlight of 2017, with more than 40 world champions across eight ICF disciplines listed. More than 20,000 votes were cast during the month-long poll.

28-year-old Carrington has dominated the women’s K1 200 event since 2011, winning consecutive Olympic gold medals, and remaining undefeated at five world championships.

Sprint canoe athletes dominated voting in the online poll, filling six of the top ten moments. The Hungarian women’s K4, who saw off strong challenges from Germany and New Zealand to regain their world 500 title, finished second.

Great Britain’s Liam Heath, who won the men’s K1 200 world title to add to his Rio Olympic title, struck a chord with voters, finishing third.

In a further demonstration of Carrington’s popularity with canoeing fans, her K2 500 world title with NZ teammate Caitlin Ryan was voted the fourth most popular performance of the year.

South African multiple canoe marathon world champion, Hank McGregor, also figured prominently in the international poll, with his win in Pietermaritzburg voted the seventh most popular moment of 2017.

His K2 marathon world title with South African teammate, Jasper Mocke, came in eighth.

Great Britain’s Lani Belcher epic win in the women’s marathon final was voted the tenth most popular performance of the year.

Australian K1 canoe slalom world champion, Jessica Fox, who also won an U23 world title in 2017, came in ninth for her performance in Pau.

The final top ten ICF performances of 2017, as voted by the fans, were;

  1. Lisa Carrington (NZL) – women’s K1 200 world title
  2. Hungary women’s K4 – K4 500 world title
  3. Liam Heath (GBR) – men’s K1 200 world title
  4. Carrington/Ryan (NZL) – women’s K2 500 world title
  5. German men’s K4 – men’s K4 500 world title
  6. Vincent/Vincent-LaPointe (CAN) – women’s C2 500 world title
  7. Hank McGregor (RSA) – men’s K1 marathon world title
  8.  McGregor/Mocke (RSA) – men’s K2 marathon world title
  9. Jessica Fox (AUS) – women’s K1 slalom world title
  10. Lani Belcher (GBR) – women’s K1 marathon world title
#ICFsprint #canoesprint