About the International Canoe Federation

ICF Structure

The International Canoe Federation (ICF) is a membership organisation that is responsible for the global sport of canoeing and comprises of five Continental Associations (CA) and 169 National Federations (NF). The ICF is the recognised international body for paddle sport and has representatives for eight (8) disciplines on its Board.

The ICFs biennial congress, which is comprised of voting delegates from each of the NFs, is the supreme authority and is where rules, governance decisions and elections for the President, Vice Presidents (3), Treasurer (1) and Standing Committee Chairs (9) take place. The term for each of the ICF elected positions is four years.

The appointed President is the chairperson for the Congress, Board of Directors and Executive Committee. The Board of Directors is collectively responsible for the strategic direction of the sport, whilst the Executive Committee ensure the decisions of the Congress and Board of Directors are implemented.

The five continents (Africa, America, Asia, Europe and Oceania) are also represented on the ICF Executive Committee and Board of Directors with each electing Continental Representatives and a President during their respective Continental Congress.

In addition to the ICF Board of Directors, the eight (8) disciplines each have technical committees responsible for rules and international competition delivery – for example world championships and world cups. There is also an Athlete Committee and Medical and Anti-Doping Committee.  These committees are collectively referred to as Standing Committees (10).
One official discipline and one developing discipline have commissions, where their chair does not sit on the Board of Directors. There are also commissions for diversity and inclusion in sport, ethics and finance.
The position of Honorary President was awarded to Jose Perurena by the national federations at the ICF Congress in November 2021, on his departure as ICF President. Perurena's commitment to the sport and dedication to the ICF, through his role as Secretary General (2000-2004) and President (2008-2021) were recognised by the entire Congress. 

For additional information regarding the ICF structure, please refer to the organogram. Roles and responsibilities are outlined in the ICF Statutes.
ICF President - Thomas Konietzko (GER)

Thomas Konietzko was elected president of the International Canoe Federation at the 2021 Congress in Rome on November 6, receiving more than 90 per cent of the vote. He has been an ICF board member since 2014, and a vice-president since 2017. The former canoe sprint coach was president of the German Canoe Federation from 2009 until his election as ICF President, and was also a member of the German Olympic Sports Assembly’s high performance board from 2011 until 2015.

ICF Board of Directors and Executive Committee

* All members of the Executive sit on the ICF Board of Directors

ICF Board of Directors

Asian Canoe Confederation

Confederation of African Canoeing

European Canoe Association

Oceania Canoe Association

Pan American Canoe Federation

ICF Standing Committee Board Members

ICF Standing Committees

ICF Canoe Sprint Committee

  • Toshi Furuya (JPN) Chair   
  • Dr Jens Kahl (GER) Member
  • Alison Harris (NZL) Member
  • Charles Luckman (USA) Member
  • Botond  Storcz (HUN) Member
  • Henrietta Engel Hansen (DEN) Advisor
  • Ricardo Machado (POR) Advisor
  • Paolo Tommasini (ITA) Advisor

    ICF Canoe Slalom Committee

    ICF Wildwater Canoeing Committee

    ICF Canoe Marathon Committee

    ICF Canoe Polo Committee

      ICF Canoe Freestyle Committee

      ICF Ocean Racing Committee

      • Colin Simpkins (RSA) Chair
      • Rob Jenkinson (AUS) Member
      • Marian Sarbu (BEL) Member
      • Raymond Ho-Yin Lo (HKG) Member
      • Michele Eray (USA) Member

      ICF Paracanoe Committee

        ICF Medical and Anti Doping Committee

        ICF Athlete Committee

        Note: The athlete committee will select the chair of the committee once all members are appointed

        ICF Dragon Boat Commission       

        ICF SUP Commission

         Return to top

        ICF Headquater Staff

        National Federations

        View the new National Federations page