Italy is the destination for the first of five 2016 ICF Canoe Slalom World Cups with the sports best athletes heading for the north-western town of Ivrea from the 3-5th June.

It is the premiere occasion that the spectacular Ivrea channel has hosted a World Cup.

Last time the slalom series visited Italy was 12 years ago when a young Daniele Molmenti (ITA) claimed victory in the K1M.

Now 31-years-old, the Italian has claimed gold at the continental, world and Olympic level.

Molmenti is also one of only two Italians to win a World Cup event in front of a home crowd; Pierpaolo Ferrazzi is the other with silver in Mezzana in 1995.

C1 Men

Last year, all five World Cup C1M events were won by five different men. That also happened in 2014.

In 2013, Anze Bercic was the only man to win twice as he was victorious in La Seu d'Urgell and Tacen.

Last year, Matej Benuš (SVK) won the World Cup standings in C1M. He also won in 2010.

The last man to win the World Cup standings in the C1M in consecutive years was Tony Estanguet (FRA) in 2003 and 2004.

Pierre-Antoine Tillard (FRA) won the last World Cup event in Pau and can become the first man to win successive C1M races since Bercic in 2013.

C1 Women

Jessica Fox (AUS) has won a record 12 World Cup events in C1W. Rosalyn Lawrence (AUS) follows with four victories.

Fox has won the C1W World Cup standings twice, including last year (2013 and 2015). This ties the record held by Lawrence, who has won in 2011 and 2012.

K1 Men

German and British athletes have each won the World Cup standings in the K1M a record eight times.

Sebastian Schubert (GER) was the last German to win the K1M World Cup (2014), while Campbell Walsh (GBR) was the last British paddler in 2004 to win the K1M World Cup standings.

Last year, Peter Kauzer (SLO) was victorious. He also won in 2009 and 2011 and can become the first man to win this World Cup standings four times.

Kauzer is now tied with Scott Shipley (USA), Richard Fox (GBR) and Paul Ratcliffe (GBR) in winning three K1M World Cup standings.

Kauzer also won the last World Cup event in Pau in August 2015 and can become the first man since Etienne Daille (FRA) in 2012 to win successive K1M World Cup races.

K1 Women

Corinna Kuhnle (AUT) has won the last two World Cup standings in K1W. She is the only Austrian to have won any World Cup standings in slalom.

She can become the fifth woman and the first since Jana Dukátová (SVK) between 2009 and 2011 to win the K1W standings three years in a row.

Kuhnle has won three K1W World Cup races: in Kananaskis in 2009, in Penrith in 2010 and in La Seu d'Urgell in 2015.

Emilie Fer (FRA) won the most recent World Cup event in Pau and can become the first woman to win in succession since Dukátová in Prague and Bratislava in 2012.

C2 Men

The twin brothers Pavol and Peter Hochschorner (SVK) have won a record 31 World Cup events, all in C2M. Their last victory dates back to 5 July 2015, when they were victorious in Liptovský Mikuláš.

They have also won the C2M event the last two times a World Cup was held in Italy, both in Merano (2001 and 2004).

They have won the C2M World Cup standings a record 10 times. However, their last victory came in 2011.

The 10 victories in World Cup standings are also most across all events.

Last year, Gauthier Klauss and Matthieu Peche (FRA) won the C2M standings for the second time following their victory in 2013.

They can become the first pair to win the C2M World Cup standings in successive years since Ladislav Škantar and Peter Škantar (SVK) did so in 2009 and 2010.

Klauss and Peche have won seven C2M World Cup races, including last year in Prague and La Seu d'Urgell.

Canoe Slalom