South Africa won three titles and host nation Nigeria took two gold at the Confederation of African Canoeing Sprint Championships held in Abuja.

The titles, which also doubled as qualifiers for next year’s Paris Olympics, attracted athletes from all over the continent. The final allocation of Games quotas will be confirmed shortly.

South Africa’s Esti Olivier was one of the most successful athletes at the championships, winning individual gold in the women’s K1 500, and then teaming up with Helen Jansen to win the women’s K2 500.

South Africa’s third gold was won by Chrisjan Coetzee and Nicholas Weeks in the men’s K2 500.

Tokyo Olympian Ayomide Bello also picked up two gold. The Nigerian triumphed in the women’s C1 200, and helped Beauty Otuedo to first place in the women’s C2 500.

Angola won gold in the men’s C2 500, through Manuel Antonio and Benilson Sanda, while Tunisia's Ghailene Khattali won the men’s C1 1000. Morocco’s Achraf Elaidi took out the men’s K1 1000.

In non-Olympic events, Nigeria won both the K2 and C2 mixed races over 200 metres, while Algeria's Ferfad won the women's K1 1000. South Africa's Nicholas Weeks won the men's K1 500, while Tunisia's Khattali Ghailene won the men's C2 200.

Senegal's Diatta Martin won the paracanoe VL3 gold and teammate Edmond Sanka took out the KL 3,

South Africa's Chrisjan Coatzee won the men's K1 200, teammate Esti Olivier the women's K1 200, and South Africans also won the men's K2 200 and K2 1000. Algeria's Ferfad and Aya won the women's K2 200, abd Tunisia's Adlene Khattali the men's C1 200.

Bello Ayomide continued her strong performance at the championships with gold in the women's C1 500, Angolans Benilson and Antonio took out the men's C2 1000, and Egypt's Ahmed and Hassan won the mixed K2 500.

South Africa finished on top of the medal table with ten medals, including nine gold, ahead of host nation Nigeria with nine medals, including four gold. Eleven countries finished with medals.

The full Olympic event results for the championships can be viewed here.

Canoe Sprint