Records were broken and new champions crowned at the 2016 ICF Paracanoe World Championships in Duisburg, Germany as many of the sports dominant forces succumbed to the new wave of talent ahead of its debut at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

China’s Xiaowei Yu became only the second non-Brazilian to take the KL1 M 200m gold following András Rozbora’s (HUN) victory at the Moscow championships two years ago.

Brazil still managed a medal with last year’s champion, Luis Carlos Cardoso Da Silva (BRA), securing bronze.

Cardoso Da Silva’s efforts maintained his nations record of making the podium in the KL1 M 200m class at every championships since the sport’s first world championships in 2010.

Poland’s Jakub Tokarz secured silver adding to his multiple-European honours.

Edina Müller (GER) managed the seemingly impossible and out sprinted the 10-time gold medallist Jeanette Chippington to secure the KL1 W 200m top spot.

The young German made a superb start and maintained a slim advantage over her British adversary to the line.
For Chippington, a former Paralympic gold medallist in the swimming pool,  a silver will likely be a setback ahead of the Games; however, the result sets up an enticing rematch later in the year when the pair are likely to go head-to-head in Rio.

Australia’s Curtis McGrath also broke new ground and managed to overhaul six-time champion Markus Mendy Swoboda (AUT) in the KL2 M 200m. This is a reversal of positions from last season’s championships and adds further intrigue to the sport's debut Paralympic showdown.

Emma Wiggs (GBR, KL2 W 200m) and Tom Kierey (GER, KL3 200m) both retained their titles from Milan.

Meanwhile Wiggs' compatriot, Anne Dickins (GBR) managed to edge ahead of the 2015 champion, Amanda Reynolds (AUS), and take gold in the KL3 W 200m.

KL1 M 200m
Gold – Xiaowei Yu (CHN) 50.596
Silver – Jakub Tokarz (POL) 50.855
Bronze – Luis Carlos Cardoso Da Silva (BRA) 52.233

KL1 W 200m
Gold – Edina Müller (GER) 56.846
Silver – Jeanette Chippington (GBR) 57.037
Bronze – Alexandra Dupik (RUS)    58.209

KL2 M 200m
Gold – Curtis McGrath (AUS) 42.043
Silver – Markus Mendy Swoboda (AUT) 43.068
Bronze – Nicholas Beighton (GBR) 44.572

KL2 W 200m
Gold – Emma Wiggs (GBR) 53.691
Silver – Nicola Paterson (GBR) 56.533
Bronze – Susan    Seipel(AUS) 57.032

KL3 M 200m
Gold – Tom Kierey (GER)    40.430
Silver – Serhii Yemelianov (UKR) 40.474
Bronze – Leonid Krylov (RUS) 40.636

KL3  W 200m
Gold – Anne Dickins (GBR) 51.246
silver – Amanda Reynolds (AUS) 51.686
Bronze – Mihaela Lulea (ROU) 52.525