Olympic and Paralympic gold medalists from Australia and Brazil have been recognised with prestigious national awards at end-of-year sporting celebrations.

Brazil’s C1 1000 gold medalist Isaquias Queiroz took out the Brasil Olimpico Award for his country’s best male athlete at an event celebrating the performance of Brazilian sport in 2021.

Three-time Olympian Sebastian Cuattrin was also rewarded at the same ceremony for his outstanding service to the Brazilian Olympic movement, inducted into Brazilian Olympic Committee Hall of Fame.

Women’s C1 slalom Olympic gold medalist Jessica Fox and two-time Paralympic gold medalist Curtis McGrath both picked up major Australian sporting awards. Fox was crowned the New South Wales Institute of Sport (NSWIS) female athlete of the year, while McGrath was named the Queensland Sport (QSport) Athlete with a Disability award winner.

Fox and McGrath also shared the Paddle Australia Paddler of the Year award.

And in further good news for the paddle community, the World Rafting Federation won the “April6 Initiative of the Year” award at the annual Peace and Sport presentation.

The Federation gained the most votes for its “Be White Water” initiative, which aimed to highlight stories of respect, sharing and inclusion at the heart of their community.

The International Canoe Federation and the entire paddling community congratulate all the award winners for their outstanding achievements.

Canoe Sprint
#ICFcanoesprint #ICFparacanoe