The Cook Islands and China have received their first canoe slalom quotas for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, following confirmation of the latest round of allocations for next year.

Several countries in both canoe sprint and canoe slalom were required to return Olympic quotas they were allocated at their respective world championships, either because they had reached the maximum number of athletes allowed, or because of restrictions on the number of quotas an individual athlete could earn.

There were two additional quotas available in men’s canoe sprint, which has enabled Russia to qualify a K2 1000 crew. Argentina will also now have an athlete in the men’s K1 1000.

In canoe slalom, Jessica Fox from Australia, Ana Satila from Brazil and Evy Leibfarth from USA each earned both K1 and C1 quotas at the La Seu world championships. All three countries have decided to return the K1 quotas, which have been re-allocated to Canada, China and the Cook Islands.

Fox, Satila and Leibfarth will be allowed to compete in both the K1 and C1 in Tokyo, if they are selected by their countries.

Andorran teenager, Monica Doria Vilarrubla, and Rio 2016 silver medalist, Luuka Jones of New Zealand, also earned both a K1 and C1 quota at the world championships. Andorra and New Zealand opted to return the C1 quotas, which have now been passed on to France and Slovenia.

The re-allocations are subject to acceptance by the recipient countries.

Canoe Sprint
Canoe Slalom