Augsburg and its famous 1972 Olympic course hosted the third race of the 2019 ECA Wildwater Sprint Canoeing European Cup race series, and produced exciting wins for paddlers from Germany, Italy and Slovenia.

Slovenians Nejc Žnidarčič and Blaž Cof, both 2018 wildwater sprint canoeing world champions, took the wins in the men’s kayak and canoe finals. Žnidarčič was already the fastest in heats and he remained unbeatable until the last stage of the race. He was almost two seconds faster than his closest rival, Yannick Lemmen from Germany, with another German, Bjoern Beerschwenger, finishing third.

Blaž Cof produced the best time in canoe, stopping the clock one second faster than second positioned German paddler Normen Weber. Croatian canoeist Luka Obadić was third, more than three seconds behind Cof.

Germany's Sabine Fuesser won the women’s kayak event. Only 0.62 seconds behind her Swiss representative Melanie Mathys crossed the finish line to pick up silver medal, while Meghan Jaedicke of Germany was third.

Young Italian paddler Alice Panato won the women’s canoe final. She was 0.62 seconds faster than German Sabrina Barm, with Italy's Valentina Razzauti third.

Athletes fought for the highest positions also in men’s C2. Ole Schwarz and Janosch Suelzer (GER) won the race in front of Croatian duo Luka Obadić – Ivan Tolić, while German crew Rene BrueckerNormen Weber were third.

Wildwater Canoeing