MONTRÉAL, QC (June 25, 2016) – Canadian Sprint Canoe Kayak Team Trials 2 continued for a second day at the Olympic Basin in Montreal, QC.

Michelle Russell (Fall River, NS) won the Senior Women’s K1 500m to make for two wins at the trials including a victory in the K1 200m yesterday. KC Fraser (Toronto, ON) was a close second and Russell edged her out at the line. The trials races were for carding to assess athletes for Sport Canada’s Athlete Assistance Program.

Jarret Kenke (Saskatoon, SK) won the Men’s K1 1000m and Mark James (Dartmouth, NS) won the Men’s C1 1000m. In the Women’s C1 200m, Laurence Vincent-Lapointe (Trois-Rivières, QC) won and Katie Vincent (Mississauga, ON) finished a close second.

Selections for Junior and Under 23 World Championships were also on the line and athletes are competing for both placement and to achieve performance standards.

Samantha Hall (Dartmouth, NS) won a race-off in the U23 Women’s K1 200m over Alanna Bray-Lougheed (Oakville, ON).

In a second final of the Junior Women’s C1 200m, the result played out the same as yesterday with Anne-Sophie Lavoie-Parent (Trois-Rivières, QC) taking another win. Tess Peterman (Chelsea, QC) and Anna Roy-Cyr (Lac Beauport, QC) won the Junior Women’s C2 500m.

Matthew Koehler (Maple Ridge, BC) won the Junior Men’s K1 1000m and Isaac Finkelstein (Ottawa, ON) won the Junior Men’s C1 1000m. Anna Negulic (Bedford, NS) won the Junior Women’s K1 500m.

Sunday will be the final day of racing in Montreal. Both Christine Gauthier (Pointe-Claire, QC) and Erica Scarff (Toronto, ON) will compete in Paracanoe events to secure selections to the first Paralympic Games ever to include Paracanoe. On Monday in Montreal, Canoe Kayak Canada will present its team selected for the Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Summary of Results




U23 Women’s K1 200m race-off

1) Samantha Hall (Dartmouth, NS)
2)  Alanna Bray-Lougheed (Oakville, ON)

Junior Women’s C1 200m - Final 2

1)  Anne-Sophie Lavoie-Parent (Trois-Rivières, QC)
2)  Anna Roy-Cyr (Lac Beauport, QC)
3)  Tess Peterman (Chelsea, QC)

Junior Men’s K1 1000m

1)  Matthew Koehler (Maple Ridge, BC)
2)  Scott Braddon (Ottawa, ON)
3)  Luke Stienburg (Dartmouth, NS)

Senior Men’s K1 1000m

1)   Jarret Kenke (Saskatoon, SK)
2)   [Marshall Hughes (Waverley, NS)
3)   Andrew Jessop (Halifax, NS)

Junior Men’s C1 1000m

1)   Isaac Finkelstein (Ottawa, ON)
2)   Connor Fitzpatrick (Dartmouth, NS)
3)   Lucas Turnbull (Toronto, ON)

Senior Men’s C1 1000m

1)   Mark James (Dartmouth, NS)
2)   Craig Spence(Dartmouth, NS)
3)   Paul Bryant (Richmond Hill, ON)

Senior Women’s C1 200m

1)   Laurence Vincent-Lapointe (Trois-Rivières, QC)
2)   Katie Vincent (Mississauga, ON)
3)   Anne-Sophie Lavoie-Parent (Trois-Rivières, QC)

Junior Women’s K1 500m

1)   Anna Negulic (Bedford, NS)
2)   Lucy Pennyfather (Oakville, ON)
3)   Ashley Card

Senior Women’s K1 500m

1)   Michelle Russell (Fall River, NS)
2) KC Fraser (Toronto, ON)
3)  Lissa Bissonnette (Sherbrooke, QC)

Junior Women’s C2 500m

1)   Tess Peterman (Chelsea, QC), Anna Roy-Cyr (Lac Beauport, QC)
2)   Anne-Sophie Lavoie-Parent (Trois-Rivières, QC), Jessica MacDonald (Dartmouth, NS)
3)   Emily Howard (Mississauga, ON), Lindsay Irwin (Carleton Place, ON)



Canoe Sprint